Written on . those from our arts and heritage sector receiving honours...

Companion of Honour

Sir Elton John


Olivia Newton-John, singer and actor; Magdalene Odundo, potter; Rose Tremain, author.


David Bintley; choreographer; Christopher Hampton, playwright; Sam Mendes, stage and film director; Steve McQueen, artist and film director.


Wendy Craig, actor; Kevin Fewster, former director of the National Maritime Museum; Jamie Fobert, architect; Jackie Kay, poet and novelist; Steven Knight, film writer and director; Stephen Mear, dancer and choreographer; Annie Nightingale, disc jockey; Rudolph Walker; Timothy Walker, CEO of the London Philharmonic Orchestra; Errollyn Wallen, composer.


Mirella Bartrip, former director of dance, Trinity Laban;  Maureen BEATTIE, actor and Equity president; Judith Bingham, composer and singer; Ann Gallagher, art dealer;  James Graham, writer and producer;  Elaine Griffiths, for services to heritage in Cheshire; Nicola Killean, CEO of Sistema, Scotland; Lesley Knox, former chair, V&A Dundee; Kate Flatt, choreographer; Gary Lightbody. guitarist with Snow Patrol; Philip Long, director, V&A Dundee; Tim Marlow, director, Design Museum; Lèonie Scott-Matthews, artistic director, Pentameters Theatre; David Shrigley, artist; Roger Taylor, drummer with Queen; David Toole, dancer and actor; Sue Wilkinson, former CEO of the Reading Agency.


David Alston, services to the arts; Emmanuel Anyiam-Osigwe, founder, British Urban Film Festival; Robert Boyd, services to the arts in Northern Ireland; Thomas Brown, pipe band drummer; Billy Ocean, singer; Philip Davis, Birmingham heritage champion; David Delargy, Martin O'Hagan and Eugene O’Hagan, members of the singing group The Priests; Mark Everett, former director, Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury; Fiona Gale,  archaeologist; Natasha Gordon, playwright; James Grieve and George Perrin, former artistic directors, Paines Plough; Roger Griffith, for work in diversity in the arts; Toni Johnson, museum donor; Dreda Say Mitchell, autho; Sheku Kanneh-Mason, cellist;  Charles Kennard, principal, East London Arts and Music; Jean Leonard, musician and teacher; Elizabeth Lynch, services to art and culture; Yogesh Patel, poet and publisher; Harry Fotios Paticas, architect; Mike Pender, lead singer of The Searchers; Marilyn Scott, director, The Lightbox, Woking; David Smith, glass artist; Ken Stradling, art collector and patron; David Strange, cellist; Giles Terera, actor and musician; Richard Tuffrey, services to Buxtons heritage; Roy Alexander Weise, theatre director; Eyal Weizman, architect; Mathew Wright, co-founder, Barnsley Youth Choir.


Robin Carter, services to choral music; Shirley Court, services to children's singing in North West England; Susan Croall, services to music in Swansea; Llinos Davies, services to music in South Wales; Brian Ellam, for services to music; Jane Ellison, for services to the arts; Robert Lamb, silversmith; Jeffrey Lloyd, for services to orchestral music; Andrew Rowan, for services to music in Northern Ireland; Kathryn Singh, for services to the arts in Scotland; Margaret Smith, for services to community music; Alan Tavener, for services to choral music in Scotland; Mark Thompson-Smith, for services to music in Hampshire and West Sussex; Roy Wales, for services to choral music; Geoffrey Wickham, for services to music in Bristol.

Posted in News